This We Believe

Faith is a Lutheran Church affiliated with the Northern Great Lakes Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America – the ELCA.

What is a Lutheran?

  • We are saved by the grace of God alone — not by anything we do
  • Our salvation is through faith alone — a confident trust in God, who in Christ promises us forgiveness, life and salvation
  • The Bible is the norm for faith and life — the true standard by which teachings and  doctrines are to be judged.

BibleLutherans are Christians. Martin Luther (1483 – 1546) was a German theologian who realized that there were significant differences between what he read in the Bible and the practices of the Roman Catholic Church of the 1500’s. On October 31, 1517, he posted a challenge on the door of the Castle Church in Wittenberg, Germany entitled “95 Theses.” He was hoping to debate the posted 95 theological issues. His intent was that the church would reform its practice and preaching to be more consistent with the Word of God as contained in the Bible.


A sacrament is the physical sign of an unseen promise. Sacraments are rites of the church that convey God’s forgiveness, life and salvation through words and physical means. Lutherans celebrate the sacraments of Baptism and Holy Communion.


Baptism is the entry rite into Christian faith. It is an act instituted by God, performed using water in the name of the Father, Son and Holy Spirit, whereby the baptized is united with Christ as a Child of God.

 It is our practice to baptize infants.

Holy Communion

In Holy Communion, also called the Eucharist, Lutherans recall the saving acts of God through Word, bread and wine, and are connected with Christ and with Christians of all times and places.

In, under, and with the bread and wine are the Body and Blood of Jesus Christ.

What is the Northern Great Lakes Synod?

NGLSLutheran Christians in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan and northeastern Wisconsin are on the edge of a new millennium. Walking together into a new century are the 94 congregations, 137 pastors, and 41,000 Lutherans of the Northern Great Lakes Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA).

This Synod is one of 65 in the ELCA. The 11,000 congregations of the ELCA comprise 5.2 million baptized members.

In 1987, the latest in a series of Lutheran church mergers created the Northern Great Lakes Synod (NGLS), encompassing the entire Upper Peninsula of Michigan and the six adjacent counties in northeastern Wisconsin. Click here to visit Northern Great Lakes Synod website

What is the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America?

Over the years, different Lutheran church bodies have been established and organized to meet the needs of Lutherans in communities and nations all over the world. The Evangelical Lutheran Church in America is the largest Lutheran group in North America, founded in 1988 when three North American Lutheran church bodies united: The American Lutheran Church, the Association of Evangelical Lutheran Churches, and the Lutheran Church in America. Learn more about the History of the ELCA. Click here to visit ELCA website

Take it Further:

Read about the Lutheran worship tradition in Worship.  Explore our ecumenical creeds in Statements of Belief. Decode “Lutheran-speak” using our Glossary of Terms.